Introductory offer: Get 10% off your first tutoring session this month!

foreign language and ESL

Dee K, $60/50/hr (in-person/online)

image26

As a teacher, writer, editor and educator with several decades of experience – most recently with Chinese university students and young professionals – I know I can help you succeed in your aspirations to study in a prestigious American university. I have a bachelor’s degree in English from York University, and a Masters of Public Administration from New York University. I also studied at Columbia University’s Teachers College, and Bank Street College of Education. As a writer and editor for the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) in New York, I developed very useful experience in effective written communication to a diverse international audience.

My tutorial work with advanced Chinese students has sharpened my awareness that even the most gifted young Chinese professionals can benefit from help to make their English language communication more effective. It gives me great pleasure to make a star shine brighter! I look forward to helping you realize your dreams of success.

book with dee

Athena L, $70/hr

image27

  I have a Masters degree in Education and a BA in History. I have teacher licenses including a Massachusetts State Teacher Licensure grades 5-12 with SEI Endorsement for History, MA Department of Early Education and Care certification for Preschool/kindergarten and Infant/toddler, and a TESOL certificate to work with ESL students. I have about 7 years of experience working as a preschool/kindergarten teacher at a private school, where I worked my way up to Assistant Director. I also taught History to High school students and worked as a substitute teacher in Amherst and Boston for grades 5-12. I also have been working as an online English teacher for ages 3-12 with Magic Ears for over a year. I also have experience working as a tutor, currently working as a 3rd-grade math tutor with Smarten Up, as a tutor and mentor to ADHD students with HomeWork Coach, and work one on one ESL tutoring with adult and high school Korean students through Woori.  

book with athena

Jim N, $80/hr

image28

Saludos! I am a teacher and scholar with extensive experience in secondary and higher education. I am looking forward to helping you study and pass your exams in the social sciences (history, philosophy, psychology etc), or design and conduct research for your senior capstone or thesis projects. I also love working with  would-be-Spanish speakers improve their foreign language skill

Book with jim

About Us

Charlie M, $30/hr (Spanish)

image29

Currently, I am a senior in high school in Houston, Texas. I love challenging myself academically, part of that being a part-time tutor. My plan is to attend the US Military Academy in West Point, NY and study geographic information science. In my free time, I play bass and drums with my band, just to let off some steam every now and then.  I have taught as an elementary tutor for a little over 3 years, in my own school as well as in the community. I enjoy teaching and helping people understand more. 

book with charlie

Milagros P, $35/hr (Spanish)

image30

I enjoy tutoring students and helping them build confidence in their ability to achieve, both academically and socially. In addition, I have artistic and computer skills that will be an asset and I have worked with both elementary and middle school teachers to develop curricula that meet the needs of students. 

book with milagros